EAAV Gylstorff Travel Grant

Gylstorff Travel Grant

The EAAV Gylstorff Travel Grant is a travel fund for undergraduate students, doctorate students or PhD candidates, interns and residents to learn new scientific methods or to participate in scientific meetings of the European Association of Avian Veterinarians or cooperating associations. Especially the participation in the International Conference on Avian, Herpetological and Exotic Mammal Medicine (ICARE) is supported. Members of the European Association of Avian Veterinarians e.V. (EAAV) are preferred in the selection process.


In principle the Gylstorff Fund partly pays for the travel expenses. The amount paid out derives exclusively from the interest on the capital. There is no maximum to be paid per person. The money is given absolutely, i.e. it is not a loan.


Applications need to be submitted by the candidates themselves online through the online application form “Gylstorff Travel Grant” on the EAAV website. It should include a CV, explanation of financial necessity, estimated costs of travel and the purpose the travel grant is intended for. The deadline for applications for travel grants to scientific meetings is the same as the early registration deadline for the conference or at least 8 weeks before the start of the planned travel.


In return the beneficiaries accept the duty to publish a scientific paper on the new knowledge gained to give a talk in the avian session of the upcoming ICARE or to write a report of the scientific meeting for the benefit of their colleagues in the EAAV newsletter. In this report, talk or paper the EAAV needs to be mentioned specifically as funding source.


The grant is managed by the treasurer of EAAV. Decisions on the grant to be given and on the amount to be distributed are made by the treasurer and two other board members elected by the EAAV president.

The Winners of the EAAV Gylstorff Travel Grant for 2017 are:

  • Andreas Bublat, Germany
  • Julia Heckmann, Germany
  • Sylvia Lieselotte Parmentier, Germany
  • Helena Schneider, Germany
  • Tanya Imaz Christy, Mexico
  • Mohammadreza Haddadmarandi, Iran

Winners of the EAAV Gylstorff Travel Grant (from left to right: Dominik Fischer (EAAV Secretary), Sylvia Lieselotte Parmentier, Helena Schneider, Andreas Bublat, Julia Heckmann, Michael Lierz (EAAV President), John Chitty (EAAV Vice-President).

Winner of the EAAV Gylstorff Travel Grant (from left to right: Tanya Imaz Christy, Michael Lierz (EAAV President)